Location: Swanston Street, Melbourne
Opened: January, 1981
Melbourne's third busiest train station, lying beneath Swanston and Latrobe streets, was originally named Museum - after the museum that was previously across the road at the State Library. Opened in 1981, the underground station took 8 years to complete.
10 years later, the Melbourne Central shopping centre was opened, including the famous glass cone which has become an icon of Melbourne
In 1995 the museum relocated from Swanston Street to beside the Royal Exhibition Building in Carlton. This lead to the decision in 1997 to rename Museum Station after the shopping centre.
Related:
Flinders Street Station
Spencer Street Station
Tuesday, 4 February 2014
Monday, 3 February 2014
Parliament Railway Station - Melbourne
Location: Spring St, Melbourne
Opened: January 22, 1983
Underneath Parliament House and the busy intersection of Bourke and Spring Streets, Parliament Station is Melbourne's fourth busiest train station. Featuring 2 levels of platforms and a concourse level, it was opened as part of Melbourne's City Loop in 1983 and sits between Flinders Street and Melbourne Central.
At the time of opening, Parliament's famous escalators were the longest in the Southern Hemisphere.
Related:
Flagstaff Station
Flinders Street Station
Opened: January 22, 1983
Underneath Parliament House and the busy intersection of Bourke and Spring Streets, Parliament Station is Melbourne's fourth busiest train station. Featuring 2 levels of platforms and a concourse level, it was opened as part of Melbourne's City Loop in 1983 and sits between Flinders Street and Melbourne Central.
At the time of opening, Parliament's famous escalators were the longest in the Southern Hemisphere.
Related:
Flagstaff Station
Flinders Street Station
Sunday, 2 February 2014
Flagstaff Station - Melbourne CBD
Location: William and Latrobe Street.
Opened: May, 1985.
Lying beneath William and Latrobe streets in the Melbourne CBD, Flagstaff station was the final station to be opened in Melbourne's City Loop, which runs around the city.
Flagstaff Station is unique in that it is closed on weekends, this is due to the fact that it largely services the legal district. The station has 3 underground levels, running to a depth of 32 metres. The top level features a kiosk and toilets, with 2 platforms on each of the two lower levels.
The station's name comes from the flagstaff erected in the nearby Flagstaff Gardens.
Related:
Flinders Street Station
Spencer Street Station
Opened: May, 1985.
Lying beneath William and Latrobe streets in the Melbourne CBD, Flagstaff station was the final station to be opened in Melbourne's City Loop, which runs around the city.
Flagstaff Station is unique in that it is closed on weekends, this is due to the fact that it largely services the legal district. The station has 3 underground levels, running to a depth of 32 metres. The top level features a kiosk and toilets, with 2 platforms on each of the two lower levels.
The station's name comes from the flagstaff erected in the nearby Flagstaff Gardens.
Related:
Flinders Street Station
Spencer Street Station
Saturday, 1 February 2014
Spencer Street Station - Melbourne CBD
Location: Spencer Street, Melbourne
Opened: 1859 (rebuilt in 2006)
Now known as Southern Cross Station, The Spencer Street Train Station has been an important part of Melbourne's transport network for over 100 years. Opened 5 years after Flinders Street, the station was only linked to Flinders Street in 1879, with a single track added, opened only at night for goods trains. Passenger services to Flinders Street commenced in the 1880's.
If it hadn't been for the 1890's depression, it is likely that we would see a very different Spencer Street. Plans were laid for a three storey office complex to be built on the site, but these were quashed by financial restraint. It was 1960 before the station was modernised, to fit with the new City Loop construction.
Between 2002 and 2006 and significant redevelopment of the station took place, with the addition of a wave-shaped roof, a bus interchange, food courts, bars and a shopping centre. The station services much of the city's west, including Etihad Stadium which hosts football, cricket and concerts.
Opened: 1859 (rebuilt in 2006)
Now known as Southern Cross Station, The Spencer Street Train Station has been an important part of Melbourne's transport network for over 100 years. Opened 5 years after Flinders Street, the station was only linked to Flinders Street in 1879, with a single track added, opened only at night for goods trains. Passenger services to Flinders Street commenced in the 1880's.
If it hadn't been for the 1890's depression, it is likely that we would see a very different Spencer Street. Plans were laid for a three storey office complex to be built on the site, but these were quashed by financial restraint. It was 1960 before the station was modernised, to fit with the new City Loop construction.
Between 2002 and 2006 and significant redevelopment of the station took place, with the addition of a wave-shaped roof, a bus interchange, food courts, bars and a shopping centre. The station services much of the city's west, including Etihad Stadium which hosts football, cricket and concerts.
Friday, 31 January 2014
Flinders Street Station - Melbourne
Location: Swanston Street and Flinders Street, Melbourne
Opened: 1854 (main building was opened 1909)
For decades Melbournians have recited the famous line "meet you under the clocks", a tribute to the reputation of one of Melbourne's most famous and recognisable landmarks. The line refers to the row of clocks that sits above the main entrance to Flinders Street Station.
Flinders Street Station was originally known as the Melbourne Terminus, a series of weatherboard sheds opened by Lieutenant-Governer Charles Hotham in 1854. A single 30 metre platform serviced a steam engine that traveled from Flinders Street to Port Melbourne. A second platform was opened in 1877, with a third added in the 1890s.
The building we know today was a result of a design competition held in 1899 and won by James Fawcett and HPC Ashworth. Their design was constructed between 1905 and 1909, while one of the original Melbourne Terminus sheds was relocated to form part of the Hawthorn Train Station.
The station is four stories tall (five if you include the basement which is still occupied by stores) and ihas included a library, gym and a ballroom. The basement next to the main entrance has been occupied by 'City Hatters' since 1933. in 1926, Flinders Street was the world's busiest passenger station.
The famous clocks actually date back to the 1860's when they were purchased from England and were formally operated operated by Officers using long poles, and though they have now been automated, a plan in 1983 to have them replaced with digital displays with met with such outrage that the plan was abandoned.
Related:
Princes Bridge
Opened: 1854 (main building was opened 1909)
For decades Melbournians have recited the famous line "meet you under the clocks", a tribute to the reputation of one of Melbourne's most famous and recognisable landmarks. The line refers to the row of clocks that sits above the main entrance to Flinders Street Station.
Flinders Street Station was originally known as the Melbourne Terminus, a series of weatherboard sheds opened by Lieutenant-Governer Charles Hotham in 1854. A single 30 metre platform serviced a steam engine that traveled from Flinders Street to Port Melbourne. A second platform was opened in 1877, with a third added in the 1890s.
The building we know today was a result of a design competition held in 1899 and won by James Fawcett and HPC Ashworth. Their design was constructed between 1905 and 1909, while one of the original Melbourne Terminus sheds was relocated to form part of the Hawthorn Train Station.
The station is four stories tall (five if you include the basement which is still occupied by stores) and ihas included a library, gym and a ballroom. The basement next to the main entrance has been occupied by 'City Hatters' since 1933. in 1926, Flinders Street was the world's busiest passenger station.
The famous clocks actually date back to the 1860's when they were purchased from England and were formally operated operated by Officers using long poles, and though they have now been automated, a plan in 1983 to have them replaced with digital displays with met with such outrage that the plan was abandoned.
Related:
Princes Bridge
Thursday, 30 January 2014
Princes Bridge - Melbourne
Location: Swanston Street, Melbourne
Opened: 4 October, 1888
The 120 metre Princes Bridge in Melbourne's CBD spans the Yarra River, connecting Swanston Street with St. Kilda road. The bridge was constructed between 1886 and 1888 in order to deal with increased traffic caused by the rapid expansion of the Gold Rush.
Named after Edward, Price of Wales, the bridge replaced a wooden toll bridge that was built in the 1840's. It now carries cars, various tram routes, cyclists and pedestrians from the city (near the famous Flinders Street Station) to destinations like Southbank, the Arts Centre, Botanic Gardens and the Sidney Myer Music Bowl.
Tram routes that cross the Princes Bridge service many inner South Eastern suburbs, including St. Kilda, Caulfield, Carnegie, Toorak, Prahran and Malvern.
Related:
Queens Bridge
Church St Bridge
Opened: 4 October, 1888
The 120 metre Princes Bridge in Melbourne's CBD spans the Yarra River, connecting Swanston Street with St. Kilda road. The bridge was constructed between 1886 and 1888 in order to deal with increased traffic caused by the rapid expansion of the Gold Rush.
Named after Edward, Price of Wales, the bridge replaced a wooden toll bridge that was built in the 1840's. It now carries cars, various tram routes, cyclists and pedestrians from the city (near the famous Flinders Street Station) to destinations like Southbank, the Arts Centre, Botanic Gardens and the Sidney Myer Music Bowl.
Tram routes that cross the Princes Bridge service many inner South Eastern suburbs, including St. Kilda, Caulfield, Carnegie, Toorak, Prahran and Malvern.
Related:
Queens Bridge
Church St Bridge
Wednesday, 29 January 2014
Church Street Bridge - Richmond
Location: Church St and Chapel St, Richmond
Opened: 1923
Linking Church Street in Richmond with Chapel Street in South Yarra, the reinforced concrete arch Church Street Bridge was opened in 1923, replacing an iron girder bridge which was purchased from the British at the end of the Crimean War. The old bridge was opened in 1857.
The bridge crosses the Yarra as well as the Monash Freeway which was built next to the river in the 1960's.
The bridge is on the Victorian Heritage Register. It also supports the 78 and 79 tram route.
Related:
West Gate Bridge
Bolte Bridge
Opened: 1923
Linking Church Street in Richmond with Chapel Street in South Yarra, the reinforced concrete arch Church Street Bridge was opened in 1923, replacing an iron girder bridge which was purchased from the British at the end of the Crimean War. The old bridge was opened in 1857.
The bridge crosses the Yarra as well as the Monash Freeway which was built next to the river in the 1960's.
The bridge is on the Victorian Heritage Register. It also supports the 78 and 79 tram route.
Related:
West Gate Bridge
Bolte Bridge
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)